Getting a Georgia Auto Dealer License in Under 10 Steps: A Complete Guide

November 13, 2022

Team ACV




Getting a Georgia Auto Dealer License in Under 10 Steps: A Complete Guide

ACV facts & figures

No items found.
Georgia State Flag

Before you begin your auto dealership in Georgia, you need to get an auto dealer license that verifies you can sell  cars for profit. Here is a detailed guide on how to obtain a car dealer license in Georgia.

8 Steps to Getting a Georgia Auto Dealer License

1. Find out if you meet the requirements to get a Georgia dealer license

To be eligible in Georgia, you must be at least 18 years old and have a valid Georgia driver's license.

2. Decide on what type of Georgia Dealer License you want

There are two types of license you can obtain in Georgia, but the most common is the Used Auto Dealer License (also referred to as Independent Dealer License). With this type of license, you can only sell used cars. If you have an agreement with a Automotive manufacturer, like Toyota, Ford, etc., you can obtain a New Auto Dealer License and sell new and used vehicles. 

3. Choose a location for your dealership

You will need to select a location for your dealership that meets the zoning requirements of your local municipality. You will also need to obtain a business license from your county. A couple of things to keep in mind once you have selected a location:

  1. You will need pictures of your business (including your business signage) to include with your license application. 
  2. You will need a landline telephone number set up at your business.

4. Attend a Pre-Licensing Education Course 

Georgia requires all car dealers to attend a pre-licensing education course before obtaining a license. This 4-hour course is offered by the Georgia Independent Automobile Dealers Association and will cover topics such as state laws and regulations, dealership operations, and consumer protection. 

5. Obtain a Surety Bond

A surety bond is a financial guarantee that ensures you will follow all state laws and regulations when operating as a car dealer. The bond amount required for a Georgia car dealer license is $35,000.

6. Acquire Proof of Liability Insurance Coverage 

You will need to submit a certificate of insurance on an Acord form that includes the following:  

  • Policy number
  • The coverage amount
  • Your name and address as it appears on the application. For “Certificate Holder” list: State Board of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers, 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA. 31217

7. Obtain a Sales Tax Number 

You will need to apply for a sales tax number through the Georgia Department of Revenue. This number will allow you to collect and report sales tax on the vehicles you sell. You will need the following information to apply including the following:  

  • Email 
  • Federal Identification Number (if you have one)
  • Your name, address, and Social Security number, as well as that of anyone who  has ownership in the dealership (i.e. partners, officers, co-owners, etc.)
  • Legal name, business mailing address and physical location 

8. Complete the Georgia Motor Vehicle Dealer's License Application 

You can obtain this application from the Georgia Department of Revenue's Motor Vehicle Division. The application will require you to provide information about your personal background, financial stability, and business plans. Submit your application and pay the required fees. The fees for a Georgia car dealer license are $170 for a new license and $150 for a renewal.

Wait for your application to be reviewed. The Georgia Department of Revenue's Motor Vehicle Division will review your application and make a decision on whether to grant you a car dealer license. If your application is approved, you will receive your license in the mail.

Overall, obtaining a car dealer license in Georgia requires a significant amount of effort and attention to detail. However, if you are willing to put in the time and follow the steps outlined above, you can successfully obtain a car dealer license in Georgia and begin operating your own dealership.

This is not intended as legal advice. If you have questions about dealer licensing requirements, please seek the assistance of legal counsel.

Become an ACV Auctions member when you get your Georgia Dealer License

Once you become a licensed dealer, ACV Auctions can help you get your dealership stocked with inventory in Georgia. We have inventory available all over the state from Augusta, and Columbus to Savannah and Atlanta. If you need to buy used car inventory outside of Georgia, you can source that too. After you get your Georgia dealer license, sign up for a free membership with ACV. We have industry leading condition reports that make sure dealers have no surprises when they acquire inventory from our auction.